Connecting the Dots to Customized Learning

by

          I have no special talent.
I am only passionately curious.       
Albert Einstein

HELP!   Advance Organizer Desperately Needed!                    

Seriously.  I am not joking.  I DO need some sort of advance organizer to help me connect the dots to a proficiency-based system and customized learning.  I suspect I am not the only one.  I am working hard at understanding, because I can see the promise of this type of education.  It especially appeals to the middle level educator in me.  Isn’t this congruent with all that we have believed in and worked towards for so many years?

Here is my challenge.  How do all of the myriad of innovative practices, documents, philosophies, and organizations at play in schools right now connect to the bigger picture of this brave new world?

Proficiency Based Education         Mass Customized Learning

Common Core                                     Maine Learning Results

Multiple Pathways                             RISC  (Reinventing Schools Coalition)

Standards Based Education             Mastery Learning

Learning Targets                                 Measurement Topics

Content Standards                            Performance Standards

MCCL  (Maine Cohort for Customized Learning)

MLTI  (Maine Learning Technology Initiative)

MICDL (Maine International Center for Digital Learning)

The DOE’s Education Evolving

PBIS   (Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports)

Standards Referenced Education

So I am going to work on the challenge of understanding.  The learning curve is steep.
If you figure out an advance organizer before I do, will you share?

4 Responses to “Connecting the Dots to Customized Learning”

  1. Muriel Curtis Says:

    Forgive my lack of understanding, but is there a way we can start to at least give a nod to the “soft skills” that kids learn through experiential education? Growth in leadership, cooperation, respect, concern for others, cooperation, etc are lots harder to measure, but at least as important as finding the area of a triangle.

  2. edumaine Says:

    Many of these ideas seem to me to be contradictory to each other, let alone in opposition to the expectations of parents, government and communities.

    Besides an advanced organizer, I’d appreciate an explanation of how each of these could work in a real school with real teachers who have less and less satisfaction in their work every year (MetLife study released yesterday).

  3. judyenrighteducator Says:

    Muriel, you make a very good point. Experiential education as well as project based learning are important and effective practices. So let me give a great BIG nod to that, if a bit belated.

  4. judyenrighteducator Says:

    Edumaine,
    You also make a good point. I am working on finding explanations on how each of these ideas/practices work in real schools with real teachers. That IS my steepest learning curve currently. I don’t have the answers yet, but, like you, I would like to have them. I also understand that it is the teachers who will do the heavy lifting in this change process…as they always have in any change in classroom practice. With all of this, and even given the Met study (just read the executive summary and thanks for pointing it out) I still feel more hopeful than in a long time about the current and future education of Maine’s students. Ahhhh….the possibilities….

Leave a Reply

