Twitter–An Instructional Tool!

by

Happy New Year!  Going back to school in January always got me thinking about ways to surprise my students with the unexpected!  A little novelty went a long way in engaging students in a lesson or a task.  I read an article in ASCD’s SmartBrief (a free resource where I can track educational ideas and trends from around the country–I used to get ideas for my classroom all of the time here.) about a middle school teacher in Kentucky using Twitter.

Ella Bowling uses Twitter to:

  • Help her students review for tests
  • Introduce new vocabulary.

Read the entire article at http://www.maysville-online.com/news/local/article_25248d90-f343-54b3-a388-a90c81e6ce04.html

I immediately started thinking about ways I would use Twitter if I was still teaching language arts, and how I might incorporate it into my presentations these days:

  • Exit slip–summarizing the big ideas of the lesson/presentation
  • Asking questions that could be addressed the next day
  • Writing different types of sentences (sentence variety practice!)
  • Using new words in sentences.
  • Messages to the next class or presentation group about what to be prepared to discuss
  • Questions to me prior to the class or presentation that I should address during the class/session.
  • Sharing of related resources.
  • Assuming the role of a literary or historical character and tweeting an appropriate message.

I’m thinking Twitter has a multitude of positive uses in the classroom, and I’m just a little jealous of those who can try them out!

I’m curious–how are you and your students using Twitter and other social networks in your classes?

Tags:

One Response to “Twitter–An Instructional Tool!”

  1. Tweeting Here in Maine « Bright Futures Says:

    […] Bright Futures Just another WordPress.com site « Twitter–An Instructional Tool! […]

Leave a Reply

